Oak Ridge Food Lion Closing and 50% Off Sale

I stopped by the Food Lion on Emory Valley Road today on my way home from church, as I had run across an article that said they were closing on or before June 20th as corporate decided not to renew the lease on the building. Must have come as a bit of a shock to the employees, as I had seen one who had just been hired I would think about two months ago. She has just moved from out of state, but a state close by. I am not a regular at Food Lion, but it is the closest grocery store to my home, so I stopped by on occasion to check out the mark down meats. I regularly found mark down cold cuts that were well priced and their broccoli tended to be the cheapest without a special sale elsewhere.

According to one of the employees, the 50% off sale starts tomorrow, Monday, June 15th. There was a fair amount of non-perishable foods left. They were out of two liters except store brand, milk, most produce and most fresh meats, most breads, but had quite a bit of other things, if you want to stop by. I have to admit, I am not sure how safe it would be for me to do so right now, with us moving so soon. We are trying to empty our pantry a bit and our refrigerator and freezer, but I did see some buttermilk powder that half price would be well priced, some hypoallergenic deodorant, my husband’s yogurt, etc. Not sure if I will make myself stay away or not.

Oh, the store now has more limited hours 8 AM to 6 PM and will not be accepting any coupons anymore. Not sure when it is officially closing, as the original article seemed to be uncertain if it would be June 20th or before.

About skirnirh

I am a wife and mother of one who lives in San Jose, California. I enjoy couponing, walking/biking outside, financial matters, exercise, cooking and health news.
This entry was posted in Food Lion Coupon Matchups. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

