Oak Ridge Aldi’s Grand Opening

I received a postcard in the mail that says that the Oak Ridge Aldi’s grand opening is Thursday, November 7th. The store hours are Mon. through Sat. 9 AM until 8 PM and Sunday 10 AM until 7 PM.

“Join us for all the fun during our Grand Opening Celebration. Participate in our exciting Grand Opening Ribbon Cutting Ceremony and receive a free Aldi Eco-bag. Free samples of some of our best products. Enter to win a $100 gift certificate.”

I am uncertain when the “ribbon cutting ceremony” is as there is nothing else specific to that on the mailed postcard. The address is 111 Woodland Terrace E, Oak Ridge. It is next door to the Panera Bread restaurant. The post card does include a $5 off a $30 purchase coupon that is good until 11/22 and only good at the Oak Ridge location. (Just googled for a news article on the Ribbon Cutting Ceremony and I see 9 AM listed on the Knoxville.com website.)

I was hoping that I would receive a flyer with my newspaper, but did not. In the front section of the Sunday Knoxville News Sentinal page 9A is a small section of an Aldi’s ad. It lists the following good deals and a few other deals…

Goldhen Eggs Large Dozen $.69, limit 5
Countryside Creamery Butter Quarters Salted or Unsalted 16 oz. $1.69
Happy Farms Cream Cheese Block 8 oz. $.99
Bake House Creations Crescent Rolls 8 oz. $.99
Butterball Turkey 10 to 22 lb. $1.19/lb.
Appleton Farms Spiral Sliced Ham includes glaze packet 9 lb. average weight $1.49/lb.
Appleton Farms Smoked Ham-Butt Portion 8 lb. average weight $1.19/lb.

I suspect the ham and turkey prices will be better at Kroger and other places as Thanksgiving and Christmas approach, but otherwise, typically, Aldi’s does have some inexpensive pricing on a number of food items.

Just checked the Aldi’s webpage and they do not list an ad for Oak Ridge for this week. There is an Aldi’s ad for Knoxville, but I have no idea if the sales will be the same, even though from what I have seen in the past, they tend to be quite similar across the nation even. I see a number of blogs who occasionally list Aldi’s prices in their ad and they seem quite similar.

Items I like this week from the Knoxville ad include: Baker’s Corner Morsels 11 to 12 oz. $1.29, Baker’s Corner Evaporated Milk 12 oz. $.65, Chicken Beasts 5 lb. package $1.89/lb., 3 lb. bag yellow onions $.99, 16 oz. baby carrots $.49, Tomatoes on the vine 24 oz. pkg. $.99, 5 lb. bag Baking potatoes $1.49, 3 pk. multi-colored peppers 20 oz. total $1.99, Acorn squash $.99, Nature’s Nectar 100% apple cider gallon $2.99. (Been pricing out good apple cider, as I like one gallon each fall. Walmart’s was $4.49 this past week, which was cheaper than a gallon at Kroger. I have bought it at Aldi’s in Wisconsin before and their’s is quite good.)

Now, some comments on Aldi’s as a whole. I have found things at Aldi’s I have liked and a few I did not like. But Aldi’s has a satisfaction guarantee. If you don’t like something, tell them about it/return it, and they will refund your money and give you a replacement product. So feel free to try something new, if it is cheaper than you can find elsewhere with coupons and see what you think. About their pricing, I just somewhat implied that often times you can do better with coupons than Aldi’s, as Aldi does not take coupons. This is often times true, but if you are out of something, or it is something that rarely has coupons, then Aldi’s often is cheaper. Their milk was always cheaper in Wisconsin, and they always had some good produce deals. Overall I liked their produce, but sometimes it was bagged which I did not like. I find bagged bananas seem to brown faster and I prefer to pick out my own apples and such, so tend not to buy Aldi’s apples or bananas. I liked their strawberries, lettuce and a number of their other produce, but I also have to say that each store can be different. I have found Walmart’s where I hate their produce and I have found Walmart’s where I like their produce. (Waukesha, WI I tended not to like Walmart produce, but in Oak Ridge, I overall like Walmart produce. I think some of it last better than Kroger produce does. Have not tried much Food City or Food Lion produce, but what I have tried of Food Lion I wasn’t as impressed with.)

If I start receiving Aldi’s ads, I will be adding them to my weekly list of to dos, as I do like Aldi’s and do keep track of their sales, even if I just price match Aldi’s produce at Walmart, dependent on my personal shopping time, etc.

About skirnirh

I am a wife and mother of one who lives in San Jose, California. I enjoy couponing, walking/biking outside, financial matters, exercise, cooking and health news.
This entry was posted in Aldi's Deals, Couponing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Oak Ridge Aldi’s Grand Opening

  1. Lisa says:

    Make sure you try this coupon out. Haven’t tried myself but several blogs are talking about it! $10 off a $40 purchase no state listed. Here is a link for one of them: http://dealseekingmom.com/aldi-10-off-40-purchase-store-coupon/

    • skirnirh says:

      Yeah, I had seen it referenced on other blogs, but I think they were only listing specific states it is good in and one blog removed it, as they wanted to research and talk to Aldi’s as it was removed from the Aldi’s page it was on.

  2. Pingback: Oak Ridge Aldi’s Deals for 11/7 through 11/12 | Stretch Your Dollar Oak Ridge

Leave a Reply

