Our Second CSA Pickup

June 3rd, Our Second CSA Pickup

June 3rd, Our Second CSA Pickup

Here is a photo of our second CSA pickup. It included: 2 quarts strawberries (absolutely delicious!), onions, salad turnips, cauliflower, broccoli rabe, swiss chard and some lettuce.

The strawberries were eaten in the usual for me, in my fruit and yogurt at breakfast and snacks along with some help from hubby and son. I do have to say that fresh strawberries from the farm is way better than grocery store, even though I do love those too. According to a google search, there is about 1.5 pounds of strawberries in a quart of strawberries, which I had suspected with how long it takes me to eat a quart verses a pound. So since I like to pay about $2 a lb. for strawberries from the grocery store, I need to value these at least at $6, but a bit more, as I love the farm ones better.

Onions, I value at about $1 per pound and we received maybe a pound. They were also used in the normal way in whatever recipe we needed onions in.

The turnips, I imagine I would value at about $1, as they are very similar to potato, but actually had some good flavor to add too. I have not looked up how their nutrition compares to potato though, but I am curious. For the turnips, we made this lentil turnip stew with them and it was quite delicious. We substituted some smoked sausage for the ham, as it is easier to have it around and to buy precooked at a cheaper price at the grocery store with coupons. And yes, my hubby also said he would not mind if sometimes we buy some turnips at the grocery store. Now, we were awful and did not make use of the turnip greens, even though I know some people do. Maybe we will next time, if we get more turnips at some point. This really is a learning experience for us.

We made the Sauteed cauliflower recipe again, as we rather liked it and it makes a great side dish. I think I will value the cauliflower at $2, as it really is more food than a normal pound of frozen veggies and we rather like it. I do believe we will occasionally buy and cook with cauliflower again sometime.

The broccoli rabe was a bit more of a challenge. I became sick shortly after we picked up our share and the broccoli rabe went unusued for a fairly long time. I was just a bit nervous about it and then didn’t feel up to much cooking, especially since eating hurt. (I had a salivary gland stone that led to an infection.) I did use maybe 1/2 to 1/3 of the broccoli rabe in a pasta dish that I did like with some Kale throw in too from our next CSA pickup. What surprised me is this time I didn’t dislike the Kale. Previously I disliked the kale in the kale chips and in the pasta dish I had made that time. Not sure what the difference was. I think I cooked the kale a bit less this time though. No idea what value to give to the broccoli rabe.

The Swiss chard was used in two egg dishes and I liked the first one a bit better than the second one. The first one was a crustless quiche recipe. I am not a quiche fan, as I don’t quite like the custard texture, but my hubby likes quiche and I don’t dislike quiche. But overall the dish was quite good. Then I decided to use the last of the swiss chard in my egg crockpot dish that I make often times, and for some odd reason the swiss chard bothered me a tiny bit. Yes, it was a bit old by then, so that could have been it, or the longer cooking time. But I would be willing to cook with Swiss chard again either recipe.

The lettuce was also not used like it should have been. Normally I make a salad every afternoon as kind of a snack. Partially, a I need more food and it is low calorie before dinner, and partially because when we started having salads before dinner a lot, my hubby started loosing weight and he didn’t have any weight to loose. But as I said a few paragraphs back, I got sick and eating hurt. I tended to eat a lot of strawberry and yogurt and lots of bread, but salad, didn’t eat any for about a 9 days, until antibiotics finally started making me feel better. That can’t be held against the CSA though. I am used to paying about $2 for a similar amount of lettuce at the grocery store.

This brings my total for this pickup to about $12, even though I know it is worth more than that and more to me than that, just can’t value it accurately. As time goes on, I may find more and more recipes that I love with the ingredients and the value will go up.

About skirnirh

I am a wife and mother of one who lives in San Jose, California. I enjoy couponing, walking/biking outside, financial matters, exercise, cooking and health news.
This entry was posted in CSA Documentation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

