Egg Crockpot Breakfast Recipe

I love to make this breakfast either overnight, in that you put it together when you go to bed and wake up to the most heavenly smell with a growling stomach, or sometimes make it for dinner. It is very versatile and can be done in many ways. Whatever you like in an omelet give it a go!

Crockpot Egg Breakfast
(I do a half size recipe in a small crockpot for use at home, but do take a full version to church to Easter breakfast each year. More on that in a moment.)

32 oz. of frozen hash browns
1 lb. cooked ham cubed (or whatever meat you like, breakfast sausage, smoked sausage, etc.)
1 onion diced
1 green pepper diced
(Onion and green pepper are optional, but whatever you like in your omelet works well.)
1 1/2 cup shredded cheese (whatever types you want.)
12 eggs
1 cup milk (I don’t always use this.)
1 teaspoon black pepper

Layer in potatoes, ham/meat, veggies and cheese and keep layering until the crockpot is full and looks like there is no room left. Beat eggs, milk, and pepper and pour over layers in the crockpot, cover and turn on low. Cook for 10 to 12 hours overnight.

Comments on this recipe, it is very versatile. I have made it with ham, smoked sausage, breakfast sausage that I cooked before hand. Makes a great use for left over ham too. I have used white cheeses, cheddar cheese, etc. I have seen people put in some salsa, or tomatoes. I could see mushrooms. Basically anything that goes well with eggs and an omelet would work. I have given this recipe to a few people at church and we may have on easter breakfast about four crockpots of it and no two are every the same. Oh, and I usually use different spices too. I have done herbs, tonight I put in sweet paprika a 1/2 teaspoon. I have put in curry too. I thought I liked that, but my family seems against the idea, but decided with the smoked sausage and cheddar cheese, I would use the sweet paprika. IE play with it all you like. IF you find something you love, let me know, maybe I will try it too! I have thought of doing it for dinner, then I could do more peppers and onions and stuff. I just find peppers and onion strong for breakfast. Oh, and feel free to play with the amounts too. I rarely use the full amount of cheese anymore, as my stomach can only take limited amounts of cheese. IE make it to your particular tastes and preferences.

About skirnirh

I am a wife and mother of one who lives in San Jose, California. I enjoy couponing, walking/biking outside, financial matters, exercise, cooking and health news.
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Egg Crockpot Breakfast Recipe

  1. Pingback: Our Second CSA Pickup | Stretch Your Dollar Oak Ridge

  2. trishay79 says:

    I really want to try this sometime…need to pick up hash browns first or make it without.

Leave a Reply

