June Visions Newspaper/Magazine and Myself

This is a bit of a whiney post and an update on me, you have been warned.

I am a bit sick lately with an infected salivary gland. The doctor has given me a strong antibiotic to take three times a day and once the infection is knocked out, then he can unclog the salivary gland. (I so don’t want to think about how he does such. I do see online some suggestions on how to do it yourself, like gargling salt water and such, which I could try, once the infection is mostly gone.) So for right now, eating hurts, but I get hungry, so I have to eat and haven’t lost any weight yet. (But with strong antibiotics that tend to bother my Irritable Bowel Syndrome, we shall see.) I have a follow up visit with the doctor on Thursday and hopefully then he can remove the obstruction and I can get back to pain free eating.

A few minutes ago, I picked up the Anderson County Visions Magazine for June from my mailbox and read a few pages. I had put the Secret City Festival on my calendar as something we might do, but now I see the price is $20 per person and I take it the money mainly goes to the concerts. We don’t tend to do concerts, as my hubby prefers classical music and I like music, but don’t like to pay that much money for a few hours of entertainment. IE what is the fun of going without your family and to take myself, my husband and my son that would cost $60. Also, my husband doesn’t like crowds much so when we do go to the fair, or other such events, he doesn’t like to stay more than an hour or so. (Hence why often times I go by myself, or with my son, if he wants to go. Now that he is 15, he doesn’t tend to want to go. He wants to stay home and playstation or play Minecraft.) Guess we won’t be going to the Secret City Festival.

I may check out the Lavender Festival at Jackson’s Square on Saturday, June 15th though. My hopes aren’t the highest for a fun time though, as the farmer’s markets so far have been rather small. No more than about 10 to 15 vendors and little else. But I can hope for something a bit more interesting.

We did pick up our second CSA pickup, but with me sick, I am a little afraid we may let some go to waste. Will try not to. I may be up to cooking again, as eating today has been a bit less painful. Hard to cook when you know eating will be painful. Why waste the effort? Did enjoy the corned beef the other day and been working on corned beef sandwiches, as the homemade rye bread is so soft and the corned beef is too, so fairly easy to eat and yet, flavorful.

How are you all doing? What are you looking forward to this summer? If you have a teen, or are a teen in Oak Ridge, what do you like doing in the summer? My 15 year old isn’t old enough to have a job just yet, but seems to say he wants to do more than just playstation/minecraft all summer. He has been beginning to learn some programming from an online class and some Lua programming from a book.

About skirnirh

I am a wife and mother of one who lives in San Jose, California. I enjoy couponing, walking/biking outside, financial matters, exercise, cooking and health news.
This entry was posted in Local Free and Cheap Events, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

