Emory Valley Greenway Review with Pictures

I live fairly close to the Emory Valley Greenway so I have walked and biked this one a few times and plan on doing it many, many more times. This greenway runs along Emory Valley Road to Lake Melton starting near the Food Lion on Emory Valley Road. One way is 3.1 miles. The trail does split up at one point at does a loop near Lake Melton.

As I said, I have biked this and walked it quite a few times. It is a paved trail and is quite nice. A bit snaky in places and there is one hill that as of yet, I have not biked up. I think I have biked the half of the trail towards Lake Melton from my house about three times and each time I have had to walk my bike up that last hill before you come out of the wilderness like area near the creek. (Is that really just a creek? Earlier it is certainly a creek, but when it gets close to Lake Melton, it seems quite wide.)

There are a few places where there is some roots underneath that has made the pavement develop some wrinkles, which could be difficult for a wheelchair. The hills would also be hard for someone in a wheelchair. I am used to a wheelchair can do fairly well if you have a downhill followed by an uphill, but that isn’t always close together on the Emory Valley Greenway and there are a lot of turns and twists, as referenced by my snaky comment.

I have seen a few spots that seem to have a cardinal that lives nearby and heard many birds but haven’t seen much other wildlife yet. I am hoping to see some deer, etc. Lake Melton, of course, has lots of ducks, geese, etc. That will be another review for another post, but I need to take a bit more pictures of Lake Melton and I don’t think I quite did the whole length of the Lake Melton Greenway yet.

One of the many curves.

One of the many curves.

Creek near Briarcliff and Cascade.

Creek near Briarcliff and Cascade.

One of the number of hills in the trail.

One of the number of hills in the trail.

Trail with one of the number of benches along the trail.

Trail with one of the number of benches along the trail.

Wrinkles in the pavement created probably by tree roots.

Wrinkles in the pavement created probably by tree roots.

Trail with Waterway in the background as you approach Lake Melton

Trail with Waterway in the background as you approach Lake Melton

Waterway near trail as you approach Lake Melton

Waterway near trail as you approach Lake Melton

About skirnirh

I am a wife and mother of one who lives in San Jose, California. I enjoy couponing, walking/biking outside, financial matters, exercise, cooking and health news.
This entry was posted in Walking and Biking Trail Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Emory Valley Greenway Review with Pictures

  1. Pingback: Pictures Along the Emory Valley Greenway | Stretch Your Dollar Oak Ridge

Leave a Reply

